Queen of the Ruff Collar

A quick google search of “pyometra” is enough to rattle anyone’s composure.

Dr. Montor wasn’t open on weekends but she got Tzuri under the knife first thing Monday morning, three days after diagnosis. (Although X-rays on Friday showed the uterus infection – which can burst and flood the abdominal cavity with nasty bacteria – had not yet progressed to a life-threatening level.) The surgery itself was not complicated, a routine spay to remove reproductive organs.

Variously called Elizabethan collar, e-collar, Buster collar, pet cone, pet lamp-shade, or cone of shame, the protective shield Tzuri came home with upset me as much as her, maybe more so.

She did, however, receive a get well note and gift from the two German Shepherds across the street.

Not that Tzuri has ever met them, of course, and given her temperament, likely never will.

The good news is that her stitches came out yesterday and Tzuri is fine. The bad news is that she won’t let me throw the e-collar away.

Why not?

I neglected to have her spayed when she was younger, and in the 12-15 estrus cycles she has endured over the years without pregnancy, the uterine wall has undergone changes that favor the growth of bacteria, which results in pyometra.

Since I am responsible, Tzuri insists, my penance is to wear the cone of shame and give her double treats every day.

🙂 🙂 🙂

6 Replies to “Queen of the Ruff Collar”

  1. Oh my! So sorry to hear Tzuri had to go under the knife. That’s always stressful. It sounds like you and Tzuri are both on the mend…at least I’m hoping so. Sending hugs to you both! 💜💕💜

    Like

  2. You two have been through quite a scare! And those emergencies always seem to happen on weekends or holidays, don’t they?! I had never heard of pyometra before. Glad to know everything went well and she’s recovering, probably faster than you! Love how creative you’re getting with the videos and post. That get-well note from across the street was sooooo lovely! Blanca has had to wear The Collar a few times. I held it around my own neck to see what it’s like and found that it greatly enhances hearing. You did well to quickly respond and get Tzuri the help she needed. Best wishes! Claudia & Blanca

    Like

    1. As you well know from your love of Blanca, these kind of emergencies can be quite stressful. I held it all in until I was called by the Vet to tell me Tzuri had just successfully come out of surgery, then I cried tears of joy.

      I do feel fortunate to have gotten her to the Vet in time. It was on a Friday and we had a scheduled annual wellness check the following Tuesday, and a nearly overwhelming part of me said just wait four days and you will be visiting the Vet anyway, but my gut told me something was not right (I thought it might be another urinary tract infection, drinking a lot of water), and we luckily got an emergency appointment 15 minutes after I called. Three days later she was spayed.

      I hope Blanca is doing well. I know she is slowing down but I bet you still get out to that wonderful Oregon beach every now and then, and I always look forward to those videos.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment