12 Replies to “Dog Park”

  1. The scenery is beyond beautiful, but Tzuri steals the show! Socialization is good, right? And oh, I would love to experience Montana one day…especially those endless fields of yellow wildflowers.

    Like

    1. Yes, yellow wildflowers with snow-capped mountain peaks in the background is picturesque indeed! And Tzuri has turned out to be wonderfully dog- and people-friendly. Probably more genetic than anything I have done. Thanks…

      Like

  2. What fun to see her play, Tzuri is so very charming the other doggies and people must fall in love with her at once. It’s an incredible place, and yes the meadows of wildflowers! You made a wonderful choice in going there.

    Like

    1. She does indeed get a million complements, although most are not sure why she looks a little ‘different’ until I explain that she is a “long coat from German breeding, not American.” Thanks, Barbara.

      Like

  3. Such fun to see Tzuri run and play. My Sissy was about 6 months when I got her. Judging by some reactions to things, I suspect she may have been spooked in some of those critical development stages. I never take her to the dog park, but she gets to run at the beach. We’ve had a couple of borderline weird encounters with other dogs, but for the most part it seems that folks are considerate and aware of doggie etiquette. Note I lean toward blaming the owners for good or bad behavior.

    Like

    1. The only minor problems Tzuri has ever had is with small dogs. She is not a bully but she is exuberantly playful and when a ‘lap dog’ gets a little intimidated by her, they will snap and growl at Tzuri out of fear and sparks can fly. I am one of the few at the dog park who keeps her on a leash until I see that another owner wishes our dogs to meet. 99% of the encounters are wonderful to watch.

      Like

      1. Yep… you pretty much described a couple of the encounters we’ve had that weren’t entirely pleasant. She’s had a wonderful time playing with dogs more her size. I’ll take the blame for creating or adding to the problem by picking her up at first (before I knew better) when she’d feel intimidated.

        Like

        1. I’m not sure picking her up is a bad thing. We are their protectors. And who can blame Sissy for preferring to play with dogs her own size/temperament?

          Like

          1. I’m a bit ambivalent on this issue. I can’t help but wonder if I didn’t interfere a bit with her ability to socialize with other dogs. But of course the first instinct is to protect.

            Like

  4. A dog park Montana style! What a great place to just hang out, enjoy the scenery and the dog activity! How nice that Tzuri is handling herself well there. At some point, Blanca decided she no longer cared for strange dogs running up to her and tended to become aggressive, especially when being interrupted by a new dog while playing with one of her buddies. So I no longer take her to dog parks, but happily she has found a buddy that she plays wildly with once a week.

    Like

    1. To me it is still an agonizing decision, whether to let her loose or not, and I don’t always do so. By the standard of other dog owners in this area I am considered “over-protective”!

      Like

Leave a comment